The Care and Feeding (and Promotion!) of Authors …

I work in a bookstore because I enjoy recommending books to others. Since joining Goodreads, I write reviews of most of the books I read, but especially of those I truly enjoyed. More importantly, I also post reviews on the sites where these books are sold.

Recently I began to contact the authors of my favourite books on Goodreads to let them know why and how much I admire their work. Thus far, every single one has responded with appreciation. I’d been hesitant to contact them, fearing they were being inundated with “fan mail” and that I’d be bothering them. Sadly, this isn’t the case. Authors aren’t rock stars.

In this blog, author Susan Toy outlines simple ways you can promote authors whose work you value. Whether face-to-face with customers and friends, or on social media, word-of-mouth is still the best way to promote a book. Recommend, recommend, recommend!

Keep them Writing

Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing

Have you read and enjoyed a book lately that was written by an author who is still living? You should tell that author how much you enjoyed the book, because we all love to hear from readers who have not only read but have also appreciated our writing. Really! We do! After all, who doesn’t like flattery? (And this holds true for any creator, but I’m zeroing in on authors at the moment, because I am one.)

While we do love the flattery, you should also consider going one step further, and recommend what you’ve read to other readers – especially friends who may never have otherwise known about this book you’ve enjoyed. You can do this by “liking” and posting a review to Amazon, Indigo, Kobo, Goodreads or Independent Bookstore websites, or wherever the book is listed for sale. Also, by sending out an email to your contact list…

View original post 593 more words

5 thoughts on “The Care and Feeding (and Promotion!) of Authors …

Comments, Tips, and Suggestions are Appreciated

